The history of Sirok Castle goes back to the 8th century. The fortress was constantly enlarged from time to time, and thus, by the 16th century, it had become integrated into the border castle system as the most important outpost of Eger. It was also in Ottoman hands for a while.
Following Rákóczi’s war of independence, in 1713, the imperial forces ruined the castle together with all the fortresses they regarded dangerous with the aim of avoiding any rebellions involving armed forces in the future. Therefore, hardly any castles remained intact in Hungary.
An exciting and romantic adventure awaits visitors in the Castle of Sirok. The fortress crowning the Castle Hill surrounded by forests was carved into the cliff and built on top of it by our ancestors. The truly amazing edifice can be approached on a partly steep hiking path. The mysterious windows of the cells carved in the hill and of the extensive casemate system look out over the path leading to the castle. The huge ducts, stairs and halls formed in the belly of the rhyolitic tuff hill can also be explored. The oldest part of the fortress is the tower house erected in the upper castle, which became the basis of the keep that accommodated the guards. Visitors can admire then amazing view when they look out from the ruins crowning the Castle Hill.
The period furnished rooms of the ethnographic village museum offer additional memorable experiences.